Ships

Discussion in 'Suggestions & Feedback' started by KanachoX, Sep 30, 2015.

1. KanachoX

KanachoX Verified Traveler

Hey, I'm new to Minecraft frontier, and the server seems like it has a lot of potential!

One thing that I think would be really awesome would be having a strong influence from ships and trading. Historically speaking, the ocean has been the primary way of trade and the monetary influence it brings is very impactful. I think giving the ability to players to genuinely control real ships (maybe form groups of pirates or traders), would really make the game A LOT more fun and interactive. It could bring a lot of fun and dynamic gameplay. Maybe the ability to design and set sail on your own ships even.

What immediately comes to mind with this idea, is the Archemedes ship mod, which is a good example of what I'm talking about. The mod allows players to build their own ship with its own unique design that they can then pilot and interact with the world in a really cool and unique way. I don't know if this is possible or if this fits with your goals for MF, but I think it would be such a cool core gameplay component. The necessity of crossing the ocean for trade could spark a lot of conflicts and alliances and make the server so much more interactive and fun!

2. tcvs

tcvs Administrator Administrator Developer

@KanachoX I agree that would be really cool. However, due to limitations of Minecraft and how modding works. It would be too much of a pain for the users. Although, you never know what the future may hold.

3. KanachoX

KanachoX Verified Traveler

Yeah, I'm not sure how much work it would be to implement something like that or if it's even possible without modding the game. Also, is there a place to register for the beta?

4. tcvs

@KanachoX Yes, there is a link to register for beta. Head here for details about applying. If you want to go straight to google forms head here.

5. jamestiger

jamestiger Known Citizen